Skip to content

Father’s Day: A Father for Every Day!

June 16, 2012

“Our Father which art in heaven, hallowed be thy name…” – Matt. 6:9

I’m going to be honest: this is kind of a difficult article for me to write. I don’t exactly have the warmest, fuzziest experiences with my own father to base it on, so extolling the virtues of dads and their importance in our lives is a concept I’ve never really grabbed a hold of. Oh, I’ve had some good father-like figures in my life, but its still a far cry from having a father: you come first to a father, after all – and I’ve only ever come first to my mother. Not that I’m complaining, since that was more than good enough; she did the job better than any two fathers I know. But the truth is that I just don’t know how to write about a healthy relationship with your dad. But I’ll tell you what I can write about: I can write about the Dad who never falls short, who never fails, and who never abandons or forsakes us. I can write about our God, who is all the Father any of us need. After all, how could I miss out, when we are told to “call no man your father upon the earth: for one is your Father, which is in heaven.” (Matt. 23:9)

You know, I once heard a theory concerning a person’s relationship with God: that people tend to see and treat Him as they see their earthly fathers. For instance, if their father was an overly strict man, chances are they see God as a rigid disciplinarian; if their father was a workaholic, yet still provided well for the family, then He would be seen as something as an absentee landlord: never around, yet still with affairs well in hand and everything taken care of. There are as many variations of views as there are people: some good, some not so bad, and some fairly awful. Regardless, I have to say that this theory holds quite a lot of water, as for the longest time I saw God as something of a distant figure: someone who loved me – in His own way, anyways – but who had His own thing going and better things to do. I figured He had little time or attention directed my way, and so we went years without speaking…which was approximately the same relationship I share with my dad.

But the truth is that God is nothing like a human father: human fathers – even the best and kindest of them – fail. Larger than life in our eyes when we’re children, they become more human as we grow older, as we begin to realize that they aren’t the perfect, all-knowing entities that we thought they were; because in truth they are only people: just like us, with their own faults and flaws and redeeming qualities. God, on the other hand, is perfect: He has never let a single one of His children down. He loves us all the same, without favoritism or partiality. His love is so perfect, and so complete, that Paul writes “For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord,” (Rom. 8:38-39).

Because that’s what God’s love is; this is the physical, spiritual, and eternal manifestation of His love and regard for us: our Lord Jesus Christ, who is “the firstborn among many brethren” (Rom. 8:29). The Son is love incarnate; love clothed in flesh and then nailed upon a cross. “For God so loved the world, that He gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life,” (John :16). No earthly father ever gave a gift like that, let me assure you.

This Father’s Day, no matter what your relationship with your dad – good, bad, whatever – remember to give thanks to the “One God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all,” (Eph. 4:6). He is the most important and greatest Father there is, the Father who loves us more than we could possibly fathom, and the Father who offers us an eternal place at His side through the Son: “In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you,” (John 14:2).

So this day and every day hereafter, I want to say ‘thank you’ to the greatest Dad there is: the Dad who blesses me each and every day, who has healed my afflictions, won my battles, and promised me a place in everlasting glory. He is my God, my Father, and my best Friend. I give Him praise and thanks, and I pray “Grace unto you, and peace, from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ,” – (II Thess. 1:2.).

Happy Father’s Day, Lord!

Be blessed,

Joshua

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Diana permalink

    Psalms 27:10 “When my father and my mother forsake me, Then the Lord will take me up.”
    My mom worked many jobs as I raised the siblings…my father absent as well. And, he is the 3 stooges with a touch of Jerry Lewis. Your teaching blessed me. Keep it going strong. Love ya, Di ;o)

  2. ajlewis94@hotmail.com permalink

    Thank you for lifting me up. I had a rough Father’s Day this year and this inspired me. You are right, we have our Heavenly Father that loves us no matter what. He is all that matters. Even if our earthly fathers let us down, He never will. Keep up the good work!!!!

Leave a Reply

